Home > Summer > Georgian Luger Dies

Georgian Luger Dies

I heard about this while driving home, so it’s old news by now, but I wanted to post some quick thoughts on Nodar Kumaritashvili, who died during a training run today.

First of all, Kumaritashvili was just 21 years old. That’s 1 year younger than I am right now. As much as I can’t fathom competing at an olympic level in a sport at that age, I can’t fathom dying at that age. This event has caused training runs to be suspended and the course to be evaluated.

The course was thought to be the fastest in Olympic history. I don’t foresee competition being canceled, nor do I think that the track will be considerably slowed down, but I do find this quote by American luger Tony Benshoof rather eerie.

When I first got on this track, I thought that somebody was going to kill themselves

Categories: Summer Tags: ,
  1. mrejr8234
    February 12, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    craziness. i cant fathom the builders not getting advice from actual lugers on where they might need to put safety stuff like nets or padding before people started to compete on it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

