Home > Winter > Night 4 Open Thread

Night 4 Open Thread

Well, apologies to everyone. I had a tough time getting back up to school today seeing as the visibility is near zero out there.

Downhill is finishing up right now, Bode Miller currently is in Bronze position.

Elsewhere we have snowboardcross, pairs, and speed skating.

See you in the comments.

7:38 – Didier Defago wins Gold in the downhill for Switzerland. Bode Miller takes the Bronze. Some redemption for Miller after 2006.

It was the closest downhill race in Olympic history.

7:45 – I may be a loser, but I really enjoy these Mary Carillo things.

7:48 – Quarterfinals of Snowboardcross is next. Seth Wescott qualified, but had some bobbles on each run. Hopefully he fixes it and can put up a good defense of his Olympic title.

7:54 – And due to a fortuitous fall, Nate Holland and Seth Wescott advance to the semis. They were quite far in front the whole way. I wonder if they yell at each other to let each other know they’re all alone?

8:01 – Two Austrians advance to face the Americans in the semis. French vs. Canadians in this quarter. No word on whether or not there is a French-Canadian.

8:04 – And one Frenchman and one Canadian move into the semis. Should be veeerrryyy interesting.

8:27 – Fuchs slides out and Wescott and Holland advance! Yet another crazy race in Snowboardcross.

8:10 – Coming up next the US Pairs champions with their freeskate. I am assuming snowboardcross concludes after that.

8:19 – Wow that was a hell of a routine by the American champions. They won’t medal this year, but in Sochi they are going to be real contenders.

8:26 – And we are back to the semifinals. Wescott and Holland are in the same semi.

8:35 – Apparently there is a delay in the 500m speedskating race. I am assuming this will impact the skaters after the initial 10. Another rough glitch at the Vancouver Olympics.

8:44 – The second US team, who got royally screwed, is up now featuring North Dakotan Mark Ladwig.

8:48 – Some great lifts, a great throw triple loop, but one misstep will hurt the American pair. Could get a top 10 finish though.

8:54 – And it’s the best scores they have ever had. By far a personal best. Good for them.

8:55 – And it’s the story of Alexandre Bilodeau and his brother next. It’s about to get dusty in the Fetch apartment.

9:02 – This is going to be a great Canadian anthem.

9:12 – Honestly, I would call that not great. Sorry folks

9:13 – And the Russians fall on their big throw. Bye bye medal.

9:27 – Canada falls as well. Rough sledding here.

9:39 – Zhang and Zhang did extremely well. We’ll see their scores in a bit.

9:43 – 1st for Zhang and Zhang. The other Canadian team is not doing well at all.

10:00 – The Russian pairs figure skating streak is the biggest olympic streak? Personally I think it’s that East Germany has the most luge medals even though they haven’t existed for 20 years.

10:03 – Sportsgal to me: “what if they never show the final of snowboardcross?” Two seconds later, Bob Costas: “and let’s go out to the final of Snowboardcross”

10:05 – Nate Holland falls and finishes 4th. Disappointing. Seth Wescott crawling back.

10:06 – Wescott wins! Back to back Golds for the man from Maine!

10:08 – I have been quite good at selecting pictures for this week. I have the Gold medal charm.

10:11 – If there’s one person I want to win Gold, it’s Lindsey Jacobellis. What she did 4 years ago was dumb, but I would feel awful if what happened to her happened to me. She’s handled it with grace and maturity and she deserves Gold in 2010.

10:17 – We are in the lead in the medal count at the end of Day 4. The United States has never won the medal count in a Winter Olympics. Switzerland leads with 3 goals.

10:27 – And the Russian streak is over. Quite a momentous night in Winter Olympic history.

10:34 – The European champions from Germany did well, but it looks like Zhen and Xiao are going to win Gold, barring a horrible mistake. Good for them.

10:45 – Pang and Tong will get at least the Silver. China could go 1-2 here.

10:50 – A little bobble, but I think Zhen and Xiao will still get the Gold. Their program was very difficult, and they had a decent sized lead going into tonight’s program.

10:54 – Not a bad way to retire, eh?

11:07 – Alright folks. Thanks for joining me tonight. I’ll post some thoughts in the comments and be back tomorrow.

Categories: Winter Tags:
  1. February 15, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    Might I also add that the downhill and snowboardcross events are over, but I haven’t seen the results.

    So if any of you have, kindly refrain from putting them here. Thanks.

  2. Warden11
    February 15, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    Shawn White won.

    • February 15, 2010 at 7:50 pm

      *cough*, It’s Shaun

  3. mrejr8234
    February 15, 2010 at 7:44 pm

    Bode Miller can go eff himself…he needs gold and that’s it.

  4. Warden11
    February 15, 2010 at 7:45 pm

    and is it me or is NBC just screwing the coverage completely? The Olympics are supposed to be non-stop sports for two weeks. NBC is acting like it’s only 3 hours a day.

    • February 15, 2010 at 7:51 pm

      Well the only stuff that is live tonight is the pairs figure skating and the speed skating.

      On the one hand, it sucks for hardcore sports fans, but I can totally understand them doing it this way for the mainstream audience.

      • SM
        February 15, 2010 at 7:57 pm

        they should show live and again in primetime to keep all happy, no?

      • Paolo X
        February 15, 2010 at 8:17 pm

        Agreed with Fetch though of course it sucks …

        SM no network demographics don’t work that way for primetime, as the advertisers target ninnies and kids in prime time before 10PM with the figure skating shit and short-track and snowboard stuff. Mind you on Olympics coverage on state-owned television outside the US, this is not the case as they go more to the cooler stuff.

        Think mostly whyyyte ninnie Gen X moms and tween Gen Y’s and kids born only this millennium.

        They’ve always hated Gen X men like me and are not going to change that fuck ’em. If you don’t know what bojacks, fuckers, and ninnies I am talking about, see this post on this blog earlier today:
        http://olympicsportsblog.wordpress.com/2010/02/15/day-3-recap/#comments

        I noticed during daytime coverage a lot of commercials for the moms like for Tide a la the soap operas normally too …smart business at the very least by NBC.

        I bet as usual NBC saves the better stuff for later at night as usual, as NBC does during the summer Olympics during M-F prime-time with not much but gymnastics shit the whole first week. And folks wonder why ratings for Olympic coverage have been sour for the most part for so long?

  5. Paolo X
    February 15, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    Wow did you just see that Snickers commercial with the fat black lady in the backseat as a “diva?”

    For all the wrong reasons like with that one they ran during the Super Bowl a few years ago with the dudes accidentally kissing, I am sure it will get a lot of complaints for all the wrong reasons from douchebag folks all too willing to cry “racism!” and “moral outrage!”

    Politically correct fuckers! I am more offended more often by their rants of being “offended” than I am by most any joke delivered largely unintentionally and marginally on such alleged grounds.

    Wow NBC certainly are promoting “The Marriage Ref” a lot otherwise …next tacky hit or bust? I vote the latter, as Seinfeld’s act sure is washed up and it sounds like by show two that most of the submissions will be staged like on the tacky home video shows of yesteryear.

  6. Paolo X
    February 15, 2010 at 8:30 pm

    USA USA 1-2! Awesome can’t wait to see the final!

    Man we got lucky too that Fuchs messed up. Okay we know already what happens in the other semifinal …find out Fetch if one of the Canadians is French too as France surely will claim him if he wins a medal.

  7. February 15, 2010 at 8:35 pm

    I watched both cross country skiing events today. I can’t believe I found them enjoyable, but I did.

    It’s funny, as I’m watching this snowboard cross I’ve been imagining myself dominating the course when the reality of it is that I’m a sub-par snowboarder and most of those turns would result in me launching into the trees

    • Paolo X
      February 15, 2010 at 8:41 pm

      Hey Franco I like this spirit! The virtual Manhattans I bought you and Fetch earlier paying off? I’m just here with my protein drink with a shot of mediocre E&J Brandy. It was free as is all my liquor from my parents’ beyond lifetime supply of a stash. (Italian family you know; we don’t drink much really unless it is a holiday, but man we are always well-stocked).

      Franco please do comment on the snowboard final later? You are the only snowboarder on here so far why not?

      And sure practise maybe you can dominate the local circuit and kick the shit out of the local cocky fuck with surfer hair or Shaun White wannabe when you are done?

      Meanwhile the chick in turquoise on ice is kind of spicy and subtly hot wish her hair was down … how I wish they just did this event naked.

  8. Paolo X
    February 15, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Anyone else playing along with “The Dave Chappelle” game, that’s a black guy on the zamboni! Score another one for me. Paolo 2 all others still 0.

    • February 15, 2010 at 8:47 pm

      Paolo, nice to see some fellow Italians here. When you’re done with the protein and brandy are you gonna go with the post dinner cloudy sambuca? It’s a holiday, so why not?

      I feel like a total streisand watching figure skating, but I vowed to watch all the olympic events.

      • Paolo X
        February 15, 2010 at 9:18 pm

        Vowed to watch ice skating to whom Franco? And there you were before complained about shots of blackberry brandy what was that about? 😛

        Ah well I have to steal the Sambuca from my parents then too I did not take that I was supposed to be out of here by now living in Florida. 😦

        Work still in progress along with another liquor run …meanwhile otherwise I do have some Stoli Elite in the refrigerator, smuggled into the country mind you, some Old Grandad Special Reserve 114 Proof, some Grappa Marolo, a fresh unopened bottle of Crown Royal, and some limoncello in the freezer.

        What’ll it be guys?

      • February 15, 2010 at 9:25 pm

        My dad makes his own limoncello, the very first time I had it I took it down as a shot, wasn’t aware it was an after dinner cordial. Nothing like throwing back some everclear.

        What events are after figure skating, if any?

      • February 15, 2010 at 9:32 pm

        There is some speedskating later. And I think some cross country.

      • Paolo X
        February 15, 2010 at 9:50 pm

        Your dad makes his own limoncello even beautiful! He must live in CA or FL?

        Regional differences at hand here I see Franco, as I did not even know what limoncello was until I was in Salerno staying with some friends near the Amalfi coast whilst on a break as a student in Rome in 1993.

        Both my grandfathers made their own wine, and one made his own plum schnapps.

        For all I know that grandfather living in Indiana of all places might have made his own grappa too, but he died ten years before my birth there.

        That’s it one day I am making my own stuff too!

  9. Paolo X
    February 15, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    “Apparently there is a delay in the 500m speedskating race. I am assuming this will impact the skaters after the initial 10. Another rough glitch at the Vancouver Olympics.”

    Fetch your people are blowing it again, but I guess maybe they blew all their energy helping you to get to school safe in poor visibility so so let’s be thankful for that … get crackin’ on ’em again in a bit please we can’t take much more of the ice skating shit.

    Anyone else hate these Subway commercials now? They fucked up even an annoying thing to make it annoying squared.

  10. February 15, 2010 at 8:49 pm

    What? Where am I? This isn’t basketball….

  11. Paolo X
    February 15, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    Welcome Tomas it looked lonely over there without Souvenir who is still AWOL?

    Anyone else but me know the words to “Oh Canada”? 😀

  12. Paolo X
    February 15, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    Cold weather bachelor food tonight:

    homemade artisan country sausage, black beans, rice, all spiced with cholula hot sauce from Mexico, vanilla protein powder shake with a shot of E & J Brandy …not sure of the aftermath to follow but I am highly optimistic. 😛

    This chick skating in red seems to have a nice ass too but might need some implants … nice panty shot.

    • February 15, 2010 at 9:19 pm

      I would totally bone this chick in the red. She doesn’t have the typical Russian face. Not like I can explain what that is, but it deals with the tip of the nose pointing upward.

      • Paolo X
        February 15, 2010 at 9:44 pm

        Franco, this chick in red or the previous one you think? I’ll take that last one too. This Russian is a cute blonde but that last one was for some reason more spicy.

      • February 15, 2010 at 9:46 pm

        hmm…i was referring to the brunette who was Russian, but I’d bang this one, too.

  13. Paolo X
    February 15, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    (Re-Posted — Posted It On The Wrong Link From Earlier)

    Fetch, I think for just the home country they should just sing the anthem every time.

    That girl did it memorable justice.

    “America The Beautiful” is better than “The Star Spangled Banner” too I say.

    One of my top 10 memories so far is Ray Charles singing it live on July 4 2000 in Washington DC on the Capitol Lawn.

  14. Paolo X
    February 15, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Okay Fetch damnit it is 10:30PM EST the old folks should be in bed even in the Central Time Zone as well as the kids for school tomorrow …why is fucking ice skating still on?

  15. Paolo X
    February 15, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Did you hear that sneaked in — they USED to be a couple and this was the only song they could agree on for skating? This awful song what’s it called? “Memories”?

    What are they now then? Friends and skaters with benefits? Wow she must be a true bitch to work with damn — and you know he has to sneak off to the side to get some as she is probably doin’ three or four dudes.

    After the Olympics maybe she’ll kill him for all the poon-tang he’ll be sure to get in the Olympic village with those free condoms?

    Man this skater commentary is so 1985 — whom do these NBC fucks think they are fooling anymore as a national audience?

  16. Paolo X
    February 15, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    USA! Oh yeah! Westscott did it!

  17. February 15, 2010 at 10:15 pm

    I’m thankful I didnt know who the winner of that event was, that was fun to watch. It was like Wescott knew that the two in the front were playing with fire racing so close to each other.

  18. Paolo X
    February 15, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    Hey Fetch you were right yesterday about that Dick Button looking healthy even at the age of 78. With those boots on I think definitely he could kick Bob Costas’ smug ass and perhaps should?

    Hey tell that TST that Paolo said to shake it off whatever catshit is eatin’ at him from yesterday and quit wussing out and come on back! We need his expert commentary in here too, and the Olympics only come every 2 years (counting the summer games) now you know.

    The decision to stagger the Olympics was the best Olympic decision ever made back in 1994. Those of you under perhaps 24 hardly know what I am talking about.

    • February 15, 2010 at 10:28 pm

      ” Those of you under perhaps 24 hardly know what I am talking about. ”

      I’m 23, so yes, I hardly know what you’re talking about.

      But on the topics of which chicks are bangable and booze, I can relate.

  19. February 15, 2010 at 10:32 pm

    Has the pair from Aston, Pennsylvania skated yet? That’s 5 minutes away from my house.

    PHILLY REPRESENT !

    • February 15, 2010 at 10:38 pm

      touche Fetch, I saw it in your live blogging

      • Paolo X
        February 15, 2010 at 10:44 pm

        Holy shit Franco I am in Metro Philly too but I won’t disclose my location in the suburbs! Of course I know where Aston is wow!

        Ah Franco just Wiki it for more information sometime — there were the Winter Olympics in 1992 and 1994 instead of 1996 for the Winter Olympics, when the Summer Olympics were held in Atlanta.

        /Older guy teachin’ these ungrateful kids too lazy to Wiki some history

        //And if it weren’t for these damn kids again, so much would not be so fucked up.

        ///Scooby-Dooby-Doo’ed

        It is now 11:43PM EST — why is figure skating still on and do you know where your children are?

        Man three days of overall disappointing TV coverage of the Olympics already >yawn<

  20. February 15, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    Paolo, I enjoy finding out that people are from nearby, makes the world seem like a small place. I was talking to some guy on TBL one day and they ended up being a college roommate of a guy I hang out with.

    I live in Aldan, just about 10 minutes from the airport, but I grew up in Southwest Philadelphia.

    My first memory of the Olympics was in 1996 when I fell in love with gymnast Dominique Moceanu, her “Devil Went Down to Georgia” routine still gets me to this day.

    • Paolo X
      February 15, 2010 at 11:13 pm

      Ah okay cool Franco; let’s just say I live in Montgomery County and leave it at that, but I used to live in Bucks County.

      Wow you brought up a somewhat loaded subject — TBL.

      I still have quite a rep amongst some of the douchebags over at TBL as you might hear from time to time, but actually I get along quite well still with many of the guys off that site on various other sites and via e-mail. Great bunch of dudes overall just with the wrong people running things over there.

      You might not know I left that site in November unrelated to a temporary suspension to which I agreed for sake of making too many posts. At first it was a welcome break of sorts as I started a new job anyway.

      But then JM who runs the site insisted on defending his post advocating the sniping of folks from the KKK down at Ole Miss for sake of their speech alone, not that I would defend it nor w them as would not hardly any on here, but I don’t go as far as to call for folks to be shot down over mere speech short of violent threats! It got so out of hand, likely with legal problems, that he actually deleted the post of 23 November.

      I got a lot of “dirt” on that whole deal saved otherwise for another day, and don’t let the biggest fuckhead of all Dirt over there who is the resident webmaster-buttlicker give you the business either.

      And if he has any complaints tell him Paolo sent you and tell him to give himself a high hard one again and again and ask him about his sorry-ass in-laws too.

      Ah nostalgia … 😀

      Now back to regular programming. 😛

      • February 15, 2010 at 11:21 pm

        Yeah I have been reading that site since about June 2007 but didn’t start commenting until around October 2009.

        I am very well aware of your past on that site, I didn’t mean to intentionally bring anything up as I was was just merely referencing the site.

        I understand the hide behind the screename tactics that some people use on the internet which is basically why I don’t shy away from being who I am. I talk to people on this “thing” the same way I approach them on the streets, which is in a personable manner, those who don’t then I really don’t pay attention to.

  21. mrejr8234
    February 15, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    yes! i said i wanted them to win! woot! communist china, folks!

    • February 15, 2010 at 11:01 pm

      I wanted them to as well

    • Paolo X
      February 15, 2010 at 11:04 pm

      Well you got your wish Mrejr …how I wish accordingly that NBC would cut down the figure skating coverage now, but from the preview they just ran that is not going to happen.

      The coverage tonight just sucked again except for the snowboarding and some downhill — I wonder if they will give us some more action in late night with short track? It’s only just past 9:00PM on the West Coast anyway.

      • February 15, 2010 at 11:08 pm

        long track tonight. Not sure what else.

  22. Paolo X
    February 15, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    Sticking around for it Fetch? Time for a break now but I’ll be up.

    Here they are running sucky-ass local news again now.

    • February 15, 2010 at 11:16 pm

      Yeah I’m finishing up some homework but I’ll be done in time for latenight.

  23. Paolo X
    February 16, 2010 at 12:04 am

    (whistling) Maybe Fetch get some of your West Coast folks will join late-night? I don’t have to work until Thursday so that’s why I am still on here.

    • February 16, 2010 at 12:06 am

      Yeah there really isn’t any West Coasters except Cassino. So I don’t know.

      • Paolo X
        February 16, 2010 at 12:13 am

        -Cassino rocks — go bother that TST too — maybe Quiz & Quon — not enough West Coast representin’ I say!

        -Franco I don’t know but also don’t want to know about the timing of these events — sort of like that snowboard race for us watching it before.

        -Amazing that Miller with all his trouble off the slopes even got a bronze.

  24. February 16, 2010 at 12:08 am

    I’ve been here, back and forth. I know the events on television right now were already completed earlier but were they on television earlier or is the first time they are being shown?

  25. Paolo X
    February 16, 2010 at 12:10 am

    Wow this long-track skating was fun to watch — they should have had it on earlier instead of like three fuckin’ hours of figure skating long after the old folks fell asleep and kids were in bed damnit!

  26. Paolo X
    February 16, 2010 at 12:22 am

    I don’t know how much Bode Miller weighs, but damn it looks to me like if he had lost a bit more belly he might have a gold? Only 0.09 seconds behind the gold medalist?

    What a bio on Wiki already updated with the bronze medal. And what a comeback from being a real douche back in 2006 too.

    • February 16, 2010 at 12:30 am

      Well, maybe some extra weight makes him go faster due to the gravity

      • Paolo X
        February 16, 2010 at 12:38 am

        Ah Fetch Fetch you are not taking any physics are you? (shaking head) You fail with that comment.

        Don’t you know that the weight in and of itself via gravity would not matter for sake of velocity when falling at any angle?

        However with more standing mass Miller would have likely a higher friction coefficient and thus more aerodynamic drag and therefore…oh never mind …anyway odds are with the actual physics at hand that Miller would have been better off even marginally lighter …he looked like he had some small belly goin’ to me in those ski bibs.

      • February 16, 2010 at 12:40 am

        But he would have more force on his skis, thus letting him cut through the snow more easily.

  27. Paolo X
    February 16, 2010 at 12:24 am

    This luge girl Erin Hamlin is kind of hot check it out. They should show more of her off the track.

    Fetch did you buy some of those Adidas luge shoes for your collection yet?

  28. Paolo X
    February 16, 2010 at 12:29 am

    In 30 minutes the late night coverage already matches at least 4 fuckin’ hours of prime-time for each of the last three nights — go figure hopefully this is not all week?

  29. Paolo X
    February 16, 2010 at 12:41 am

    Wow Fetch I think our luge chicks Hamlin and Sweeney beat out that blonde hockey pair by far — you better hunt down a photo!

    /Pitch the menage-a-trois sometimes when in ultimate doubt

    • February 16, 2010 at 12:43 am

      I think you’re right.

      I’m on it.

  30. Paolo X
    February 16, 2010 at 12:59 am

    To give all a practical idea by just how much Bode Miller missed a gold, note that at world-class sprinter speed of 10.00 sec in the 100m, 0.10 sec is 1m or just over a yard at his average speed.

    Now a downhill skiier is travelling far faster at the end of a run going down a snowy hill mind you, so at only 0.09 seconds we are talking about much less distance!

    No need to have a physics debate Fetch here on increased weight versus increased coefficient of friction and increased aerodynamic drag up to a certain point, but for another time offline. 😀

    In any case at that world class level in downhill skiing, like in most other sports at an analogous level, it really is such a game of the smallest margins that you wonder just how much plain luck and chance are involved.

    In other words, if those skiiers were to run the race again in three days, the results would be highly unlikely to be the same I say.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

